Operated as a one-room school until the 1950’s, this little white frame building now serves as the Township Hall. Plumbing is yet to come.
Originally part of the Old Grade Road which was used to haul logs, it is now a residential street about 3/4 mile long.
This tree, struck by lightning, stands alone along the byway. Messages to travelers, news of the day, and movie bills for the old Marlow Theater in Pine River were posted on this tree.
Awash in history, travelers are encouraged to visit the main building at the resort for fliers and other information.
The impressive stone gates were built by a Pillager man named Peterson between 1925 and 1930. Mr. Peterson also built the steps by the Breezy Chapel.
Across CSAH 11 from Deacon’s Lodge entry sign is the Breezy Point cemetery. A walking trail surrounds the property.
Built in the late 1930’s, the resort was later owned by famous Whitefish area fishing guides, George and Rollie Johnson. Many buildings have a unique stucco design in two colors.
Originally known as Campfire Lodge, the present name appeared in 1958. A cute miniature golf course and safety-fenced children’s playground greet visitors as they enter.
This beautiful, farm tucked behind the cornfield, has been in the same family for over 60 years. Drive by viewing only.
This is the westernmost of 16 perimeter dikes constructed as part of the Pine River Dam Project.