Historic

Milepost
1.80

Until 1947, the Town Hall was a one-room schoolhouse. Then and now, the plumbing was an outdoor biffy. There are still several residents in the area who attended school there.

Milepost
2.00

Opened in the early 1930’s, the original Moonlite Bay was a much larger building which featured fine dining, two bars, big bands and dancing.

Milepost
2.60

This beautiful 258 acre lake was once the summer playground of actor brothers, Peter Graves and James Arness.

Milepost
2.60

The site of a disastrous fire, this 77.5 acre tract was reforested in 1958. On the southside of the road, travelers can drive down the nostalgic dirt trail through the woods.

Milepost
2.90

Take a side trip to view Our Lady of the Snows Chapel.

Milepost
3.10

In 1924 the land was purchased and in 1926 the Oscawana Resort was built. Over the years Oscawana was divided into several small resorts and private homes.

Milepost
3.40
Timothy Township Interpretive panel in winter

Read Paul Bunyan's story about the Township's namesake, Timothy. Or as Paul tells it... Timothy Burr.

Milepost
3.60

Built in 1929 using ‘Spanish Mission’ architecture, this building features the original white stucco exterior with extensive native cedar log trim.

Milepost
3.80

Located on the east side of CSAH 3 and showcasing the surroundings of the Lakes Area’s first residents, these buildings include: 1) The Ideal Schoolhouse, erected in 1897 on the site of the present

Milepost
3.80

Built in the late 1930’s, the first owners called their bar and dance hall, The Criss Cross. In the 40’s, it was renamed The Clover Club, which it was until 1962 when it burned down.

Pages