In 1964 the idea was conceived of cutting into the forest to create a golf course. Old-timers scoffed at the notion of golfing instead of fishing, but their skepticism was unfounded.
Ranked on the top 10 new public courses in the nation by Golf Magazine, 2000, Deacon’s Lodge was designed by Arnold Palmer and named after his father, Deacon.
Built in the late 1930’s, the resort was later owned by famous Whitefish area fishing guides, George and Rollie Johnson. Many buildings have a unique stucco design in two colors.
Originally known as Campfire Lodge, the present name appeared in 1958. A cute miniature golf course and safety-fenced children’s playground greet visitors as they enter.
This beautiful, farm tucked behind the cornfield, has been in the same family for over 60 years. Drive by viewing only.
This is the westernmost of 16 perimeter dikes constructed as part of the Pine River Dam Project.
Almost to the end of CSAH 15 you'll see a HUGE red arrow. Could this be Paul Bunyan's arrow?
This attractive small town park is used often by the neighborhood families. Travelers are welcome to relax here and enjoy the park. Restrooms are available.
When John Knebel moved to the area for health reasons in the early 1900’s, he found this an “Ideal” place to live, and thus the township was named.
Created with donations of money and labor, this park is a true ‘community effort’. Travelers can take a break at picnic tables under the roofed pavilion while the children enjoy the playground.